top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Ostler

A Thanksgiving Charcuterie Board- Going BIG with Your small Thanksgiving


Hello beautiful friends! I'm so thrilled you're here! I hope to create a community that loves the lovely in life and celebrates one another's successes. So, thank you for joining me and I hope you stick around!

This year many will be having Thanksgiving away from extended family--introverts rejoice! But for many, it can be hard to break with tradition. That's why I think it's a great year to go BIG with Thanksgiving! Use those rose-colored glasses and have yourself a luxuriously small Thanksgiving with only your very nearest and dearest. Break with tradition by serving your family a beautiful, fall charcuterie board!

I created this board for one of my dearest friends' bridal showers back in October. It was an intimate gathering, which is why it was so fun to go all out for it! The reason I think this would make a fabulous Thanksgiving or Christmas gathering for your family is that you can go as big or as small as you would like while still creating a beautiful yet comfortable setting. Here is my "recipe" for the Thanksgiving charcuterie board of your dreams.

Step One- Build your Menu:

Start with cheese. I suggest having three to four cheeses depending on how many people you are serving.

Soft Cheese (pick 1-3)

Chevre (AKA goat cheese, I suggest one rolled in cranberries to be festive and delicious)

Brie

Coulommiers

Camembert

Hard Pressed Cheese (pick 1-3)

Gruyere

Comte

Edam

Meat (pick 3)

salami

prosciutto

*turkey deli meat (to be officially on point for Thanksgiving)

smoked salmon

or a Rotisserie chicken

Fruit (pick 4-6)

*Dried Cranberries

*small bowl of cranberry sauce

Dried Cherries

*Dried Orange slices

BlackBerries

Raspberries

Blue Berries

Pears

Grapes

Persimmons

*Pomegranate

Vegetables (pick 4-5)

Cornichons Pickles

Black Olives

Kalamata Olives

Green Olives

Fingerling Potatoes

Carrot sticks

Slices colorful bell peppers

Artichoke (served with butter...um, yes please)

*A smallish bowl of mashed potatoes and gravy (if you really want that Thanksgiving feel)


Nuts (pick one)

pistachios

walnuts

cashews

Or whatever nut you're nuts about (oh yeah, I went there)

Separate Bread Basket

Baguette

Crackers

Drinks

I always make a cranberry juice/sprite punch

or

-sliced oranges and cranberries in ice water

or

Cranberry Ginger ale...yum!

OR, like pictured below, you can go crazy at Trader Joe's and buy yummy sparkling drinks.

*indicates that it is uber Thanksgiving worthy


Step Two- Find your Surface:

Next, you need a surface. I found mine at World Market but feel free to just pull out a cutting board or a large serving tray. Here are a few pretty ones I found online if you are looking for something new.





Step Three- Create!

I start by placing my cheeses, then I might put something larger down like a large bunch of grapes and then work our from there to the meats and then the fruit. I treat the nuts and dried fruit as more of a filler/decoration so they go in last. I also enjoy a sprig of rosemary or a few berries on the cheese to really dress up the occasion.

Step Four-Serve!

Create a beautiful table with flowers and candles and then eat your heart out and give thanks you will not have that one crazy relative at Thanksgiving this year! Then video call your Grandma! She misses you.

And voila! A beautiful, unconventional Thanksgiving to remember!



I also have a traditional Thanksgiving menu for small families! So check that out if you are feeling more nostalgic for turkey, mashed potatoes, and cranberry sauce. Oh gosh, I'm starving now!

Will you be going luxuriously, unconventionally, BIG this year with a small Thanksgiving or Christmas charcuterie board, or are you feeling more traditional? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a happy Thanksgiving!

Love,

Olivia





31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page